Canadian Food?

A flat-mate of mine asked me a question, “What is typical Canadian food?”. When asked, I felt I needed to qualify my answer with a discussion on the topographic differences of Canada, the multiculturalism, the time differences, etc. I couldn’t give that three point answer that she was expecting.

I really had no idea. Most foods I could think of that are typically “Canadian” are more East coast than West Coast foods.

Maple syrup? Anything else?

Someone said to me that when you leave Canada, you’ll get a better appreciation for what “being Canadian” means. When I lived in Canada, I mostly defined myself as what I wasn’t, as compared to Americans.

But being away hasn’t made me any better at articulating what is so unique about Canada, either in regards to the country (generally) or food (specifically). Maybe it just takes more time?

Leave a Reply

