I *heart* asian grocery stores..


100_1806
Originally uploaded by scrunt.

So today, after how many months of being here, I finally wandered down to the asian supermarket on K’Road.

It was everything I had ever hoped for. It reminded me of home, living off of Nanaimo Street and wandering down to Donald’s market, and trying new foods just for the hell of it.

From Vegetarian Gizzard, to Instant Real Jellyfish, to all sorts of dried foods.. they had it all. And good cheap produce too. It was wonderful.

I was pretty conservative with my groceries today. My best find today was the “Brazil Coffee” which, if you can’t read it, says:

I’ll love you dear, I’ll love you till China and Africa meet
And the river jumps over the mountain
And the salmon sings in the street
I’ll love you till the ocean is folded and hung up to dry
And the seven stars go squawking
Like geese about in the sky.

Okay, so not the usual mistranslation that I’m attracted to, but it was a strange pairing – cold coffee and poetry.

5 thoughts on “I *heart* asian grocery stores..

Leave a Reply

