Bomb Threat!

Nah, Just kidding. At least, there was no real bomb . It was only a hoax. But supposedly last night at my hotel near the Sydney Airport, a young Iranian man who wanted to be deported phoned in a fake bomb threat. This happened on the fourth floor. I was on the seventh.

I’m hoping that they just didn’t take it too seriously, because I didn’t hear anything about it until I was talking with a woman from the US. “Did you hear all the commotion last night?”. “Ah, er, no” I replied. She told me the story. I imagine around the time that this happened I was in my bath with my sparkling wine and listening to my music. In other words, I’m not sure I would have moved even if I would have known.

I’m thinking about how I should broach this with my mother. She is kind of freaked out by these things. Should I not bother telling her, and risk that she finds out about this via the internet; or should I tell her and risk her being worried about me even more than she is??

***********edit – the terminal at Sydney Airport wouldn’t let me write “bomb” in an email. Funny that. Maybe not the smartest thing to write out considering the recent arrest of 15 potential terrorists, eh?******************

6 thoughts on “Bomb Threat!

  1. don’t tell her, and if she finds out say “Mum, there is more chance of me being hit by a bus than killed in a terrorist attack, and there are buses at home too you know”

    • Giggle. That’s about my response to people who are scared of flying because of crashing. I believe the statistics are it’s far more dangerous to cross the road outside your house than to fly in a commercial jet. But commercial jets crashing are headline (usually worldwide) news and people being hit in traffic in front of their house isn’t (depressing isn’t it)

      • That logic doesn’t work for someone who could be scared to leave the house though. THat would be my mother. I think she is afraid of flying; and I also think she is afraid of me even thinking of wandering outside.

        Thus why I’m on the other side of the world now. 🙂

    • Yay for CLone High Icons! And turning people over to the darkside!

      Now all we’s gotta do is convince the makers of clone high that they must make more. I wonder if there is a petition already started.

Leave a Reply

