Awesome music!

Tomorrow night I get to go and see Grrrls with Guitars – a group of women solo musicians started by a woman named Nadine. Some awesome talent in the group (which switches around depending on who is on the latest album, and who is promoting it).

The group is performing tomorrow night in a small town about 20 minutes south of where I live, which is about 1 hour south of the main centre of Calgary. Cooler yet, they are crashing at my folks’ Bed & Breakfast, as it seemed like a good thing.

It’s so nice to have some musically-inclined folks in the house. It makes me realize how much I miss making my own music, and how much I’ve neglected my own creative impulses.

Problem is I have to figure out how to finish something, rather than just having the sketches and outlines of ideas. Anyone have any advice on that?

3 thoughts on “Awesome music!

  1. Sounds fun!

    I have absolutely no advice for creating music, as I am not a terribly musical person and have only discovered music in the last several years.

    However, if you take the phrase “Problem is I have to figure out how to finish something, rather than just having the sketches and outlines of ideas. Anyone have any advice on that?” out of context, then I can try to take inspiration from writing fiction.

    I have no idea if this’ll be useful, but my productivitude and overall happiness improved greatly when I quit trying to do huge Writing Blocks of 4-8 hours, and invested in a Scribbling Book so I can have a play with things whenever I have time. Waiting for a bus, or curled up with friends or Tonya vaguely watching TV… Any time I might get something helpful down.

    When you start playing with things more regularly as a matter of course, things will get finished by accident.

    Or that might just be me. Either way.

    In any case, good luck.

    • I think that is great advice… looking at starting out with small chunks and then moving into longer sessions, if the need ever arises. I think I also get overwhelmed by the amount that I would like to do, so I never start. But starting with little bits and pieces might get things moving a bit easier – and might motivate me a bit more to want to sit down for longer periods and write lyrics or do some noodling for music stuffs.

      //When you start playing with things more regularly as a matter of course, things will get finished by accident.//

      Yup, I think that not putting pressure on the creative process is always a good thing, but sometimes I forget that “being creative” is an on-going process, and something that can’t really be turned on or off. I think through that on-going commitment (kinda?) there will probably be a bit more confidence and then hopefully a bit more productivity. Hopefully? ?

      • That sounds entirely sensible.

        I was injuring myself for a while, and my relationships with others, by finishing an 8 hour shift somewhere and then going home and thinking “Great, now I can start work!”

        The scribble book helped there, and removes the pressure.

        I also think that it’s a very reassuring process, because if it’s a treeware book (not sure how music would work in an exercise book format, but there we are) you can see Progress [TM] slowly growing through the pages, even though you know you’ve just done a bit here and there.

Leave a Reply

